UncategorisedThe Constitution – the birth certificate of a nation

27 July 2023

The Constitution was drafted at a series of conventions held during the 1890s and attended by representatives of the colonies. Before the Constitution came into effect, its terms were approved, with one small exception, by the people of New South Wales, Victoria, Queensland, Western Australia, South Australia, and Tasmania.
The Australian Constitution was then passed as part of a British Act of Parliament on 9th July 1900 and took effect on 1 January 1901. Queen Victoria, the Queen of the United Kingdom of Great Britain, India and Ireland died shortly thereafter on 22nd January 1901.

A British Act was necessary because before 1901 Australia was a collection of six self-governing British colonies and ultimate power over those colonies rested with the British Parliament. Link to the Australian Consitution with Overview

The current version of the Constitution does not directly reference “Aborigine” or “Aboriginal”. It is therefore neutral.

Indirectly there is s51 (xxvi) “The people of any race for whom it is deemed necessary to make special laws” After the 1967 referendum the negative references to Aborigine or Aboriginal were deleted: s127 was repealed. s127 recited the following “127. In reckoning the numbers of the people of the Commonwealth, or of a State or other part of the Commonwealth, aboriginal natives shall not be counted.”; Ditto, s51 (xxvi) was amended as aforesaid. It originally read “The people of any race, other than the aboriginal race in any State for whom it is deemed necessary to make special laws:”

On the question of a Republic. Word Count. “Queen” is mentioned 30 times. “Governor-General” 93 times.